

College of Architecture and Design's

Thursday, April 29, 2021



Dean's Diversity Champion Awards

Community Engagement Award:

This award recognizes the efforts of a student, staff or faculty member in community outreach, either inward, within our college community of learners, or outward toward the community at large to develop awareness of the value of multiple and diverse voices in shaping experiences and spaces.

Student Recipient: Joanna Martin

Hope Award:

This award recognizes a student, staff or faculty member who have done actions of kindness or compassion toward others, developing inclusive practices to amplify the voices of everyone in our community of learners.

> Faculty Recipient: Rana Abudayyeh, Assistant Professor

Catalyst for Change Award:

This award recognizes the efforts of a student, staff or faculty member to advocate and generate change for equitable opportunities where others can thrive.

Staff Recipient: Ronda Wright, Advisor



School of Architecture Awards

Alpha Rho Chi Medal:

Undergraduate Recipient:

DeMauri Mumphrey

Graduate Recipient:

Howard Fugitt

AIA Henry Adams Medal:

Undergraduate Recipient:

Brian Nachtrab

Graduate Recipient:

Linden Claytor





School of Architecture Awards, cont.

ARCC King Medal:

Zachary Orig

Faculty Award of Research Excellence:

Schuyler Daniel

Robert B. Church III Graduate Award:

Christopher Rubio

Robert B. Church III Graduate Award - Honorable Mention:

Patrick Keogh





School of Architecture Awards, cont.

Distinguished Design Award:

Zachary Orig

Allie Ward

Distinguished Design Award - Honorable Mention:

Schuyler Daniel

Brian Nachtrab

Faculty Award of Excellence:

Undergraduate Recipient:

Zachary Orig

Graduate Recipient:

Cayce Anthony





School of Architecture Awards, cont.

Faculty Letter(s) of Design Merit:

Undergraduate Recipients:

Schuyler Daniel

Maggie Redding

Michael Travis

Allie Ward

Graduate Recipients:

Akshata Dusa

Patrick Keogh

Christopher Rubio



School of Design Awards

Faculty Award for Process:

Madeline Smith

School of Design Faculty Award for Design Inspiration:

Jaylin Witherspoon

School of Design Graves Award for Most Entrepreneurial Capstone:

Imari Anderson

School of Design Graves Award for Entrepreneurial Potential:

Samantha Huang

Outstanding Graduate:

Christina Sok

Inclusivity Award:

Justin Lenton





School of Interior Architecture Awards

Faculty Award of Design Excellence:

Danielle Lanier

Faculty Letter(s) of Design Merit:

Allie Bierman

Elizabeth Elrod

Isabel Huisman

Lauren Podraza

Julie Lucas (ALT)

Megan Lange (ALT)

Faculty Award of Excellence in Leadership & Engagement:

Caitlin Turner





School of Landscape Architecture Awards

Landscape Architecture Olmsted Scholar:

Taylor Harrell

Hawkins Partners Award for Design Excellence:

Taylor Harrell

Don Tinsley Scholar Award:

Faith Jackson

Faculty Award of Excellence in Design:

Stormie Tibbs

Faculty Award for Self-Directed Research:

Aubrey Bader





School of Landscape Architecture Awards, cont.

Faculty Award of Excellence in Leadership:

Sam Daniel

Faculty Award of Excellence in Professional Promise:

Chloe Kilpatrick

Faculty Award of Excellence in Design Promise:

Haley Richardson





Tau Sigma Delta Bronze Medal

Bachelor of Architecture Recipient:

Zachary Orig

Bachelor of Science in Interior Architecture Recipients:

Elizabeth Harrell

Isabel Huisman

Mackenzie Talbert

Bachelor of Fine Arts in Graphic Design Recipient:

Derek Kramer





Tau Sigma Delta Bronze Medal, cont.

Master of Architecture Recipient:

Patrick Keogh

Master of Landscape Architecture Recipient

Taylor Harrell





Tau Sigma Delta Silver Medal

Recipient:

David Epstein, AIA (B.Arch '82)

Design Director, Principal Gensler





2021 Chancellor's Honors Awards

2021 Excellence in Teaching Award:

Excellence in Teaching is bestowed by the Office of the Chancellor and the Teaching Council of the Faculty Senate to honor outstanding work in the classroom.

Maged Guerguis

2021 Undergraduate Researcher of the Year Award:

The Undergraduate Researcher of the Year award honors a junior or senior who has demonstrated excellence in undergraduate research through independent inquiry, classes, and student employment.

Zachary Orig

2021 Extraordinary Campus Leadership and Service Award:

The Extraordinary Campus Leadership and Service awards recognize graduating students who are extraordinary campus leaders for their significant service to others.

Arden Gillchrest

Top Collegiate Scholar:

The Top Collegiate Scholar Awards honor undergraduates who exhibit extraordinary scholarship.

Isabel Ann Huisman





2021 Volunteer of Distinction Awards

New for 2021, the Volunteer of Distinction Awards celebrate the academic achievements of our graduating seniors and graduate students.

Extraordinary Professional Promise Award:

This award is given to undergraduate students for professional promise and to graduate students for professional promise in teaching, research, or other contributions.

Cayce Anthony, Master of Architecture

Taylor Bogle, Bachelor of Fine Arts in Graphic Design

Zachary Orig, Bachelor of Architecture

Caitlin Turner, Bachelor of Science in Interior Architecture



2021 Volunteer of Distinction Awards, cont.

Extraordinary Academic Achievement:

This award is given to undergraduate students for academic achievement. Schuyler Daniel, Bachelor of Architecture Arden Gillchrest, Bachelor of Architecture Isabel Huisman, Bachelor of Science in Interior Architecture Brian Nachtrab, Bachelor of Architecture John Sanders, Bachelor of Fine Arts in Graphic Design Christina Sok, Bachelor of Fine Arts in Graphic Design Caitlin Turner, Bachelor of Science in Interior Architecture Allison Ward, Bachelor of Architecture



EUReCA Awards

School of Architecture:

First Place:

Brian Nachtrab | Faculty Mentor: Jennifer Akerman

Second Place:

Katie Pennington | Faculty Mentor: Brian Ambroziak

Third Place:

Zachary Orig | Faculty Mentor: Jennifer Akerman

Awards of Merit:

Maggie Redding | Faculty Mentor: Jennifer Akerman

Nicolas Van Son | Faculty Mentor: Maged Guerguis

Kari Essary and Aubrey Bader | Faculty Mentor: Andrew Madl



EUReCA Awards

School of Design:

First Place, Division 1:

Cadie Chapell | Faculty Mentor: Cary Staples

First Place, Division 2:

Madeline Smith | Faculty Mentor: Cary Staples

First Place, Division 3:

Riley Doty | Faculty Mentor: Cary Staples

Awards of Merit:

Allie Torres-Lopez | Faculty Mentor: Cary Staples

Samantha Huang | Faculty Mentor: Cary Staples

Anna Gorman | Faculty Mentor: Cary Staples





EUReCA - Office of Undergraduate Research and Fellowships Awards

OURF Gold Awards:

School of Design

Cadie Chapell | Faculty Mentor: Cary Staples

School of Architecture

Brian Nachtrab | Faculty Mentor: Cary Staples

OURF Silver Award:

School of Architecture

Katie Pennington | Faculty Mentor: Brian Ambroziak

OURF Bronze Award:

School of Design

Riley Doty | Faculty Mentor: Cary Staples



EUReCA - Office of Undergraduate Research and Fellowships Awards

OURF Faculty Award:

Recipient:

Jennifer Akerman





H. Patrick Lawson Teaching Award

The H. Patrick Lawson Teaching Award is chosen by students of the College of Architecture and Design to recognize a teacher who inspires and challenges their students, makes issues in the profession relevant in student learning, and demonstrates high professional standards.

2021 Recipient:

Maged Guerguis

