October 31, 2014 AIA East Tennessee 2014 Design Awards Outcome

To salute excellence in architecture, AIA East Tennessee conducts an annual juried Design Awards Program. This program seeks to honor built and unbuilt works of distinction designed by AIA members in East Tennessee, and to serve as a catalyst for local participation in the AIA Tennessee Awards Program. The program also brings public attention to outstanding examples of architecture. Winners of this year’s program were announced and celebrated at the 2014 East Tennessee Design Awards on October 28, 2014. Jennifer Akerman, Assistant Professor, University of Tennessee College of Architecture and Design, was Chair of the 2014 Awards Program.

Any architectural project completed after January 2009 which has been produced by, or in collaboration with, a member of AIA East Tennessee was eligible for submission. Projects may have been executed anywhere. The Design Awards Program is open to architectural projects of all types, including unbuilt work. An entry may consist of one building, a related group of buildings forming a single project, or an interior design project.

 Awards were designated by a jury of architects whose work and reputations have been nationally established. Each project will be judged according to its own merit and to how well it solves the problem(s) addressed. Projects will not be judged in competition with each other, but by measuring the architect’s performance against each project’s potential. Design Awards can be given in three degrees: Excellence, Honor, and Merit. Excellence Awards, the top honor, will be granted to built projects for overall design excellence. Honor Awards will be granted to built projects worthy of recognition because of their design quality. Merit Awards will be granted at the discretion of the jury.


2014 JURY

Elizabeth (Lisa) Gray, FAIA, Principal at Gray Organschi Architecture, Louis I Kahn Visiting Assistant Professor at Yale, jury chair

Laura Pirie, AIA, Founder of Pirie Associates Architects, Lecturer at Yale

Joeb Moore, Principal at Joeb Moore & Partners LLC, Adjunct Professor at Barnard/Columbia, Lecturer at Yale

Alan Organschi, Principal at Gray Organschi Architecture, Louis I Kahn Visiting Assistant Professor at Yale



Architect: Associated Music Center Architects (A Joint Venture of BarberMcMurry Architects and Blankenship & Partners)

Client: The University of Tennessee, Knoxville

Project Name: The Natalie L. Haslam Music Center

Location: Knoxville, Tennessee


Architect: Sanders Pace Architecture

Client: Carlos Anderson and Laura Sohn

Project Name: Holston River House

Location: Mascot, Tennessee


Architect: Sanders Pace Architecture

Client: Adam and Carrie Bolling

Project Name: Bolling Residence at Park Place

Location: Knoxville, Tennessee


Architect: Elizabeth Eason Architecture, LLC

Client: Shelton Group

Project Name: Shelton Group Office Space

Location: Knoxville, Tennessee


Architect: Heirloom Architecture [Andy Godwin, Susanne Tarovella, and Frank Sparkman]

Client: Green|Spaces Next|Gen Homes Competition

Project Name: Empower House

Location: Chattanooga, Tennessee


Architect: Fork Design [Forrest Kirkpatrick]

Client: Competition Entry

Project Name: Haas Workstations

Location: Knoxville, Tennessee



Architect: BarberMcMurry Architects

Client: Hicks Orthodontics

Project Name: Hicks Orthodontics

Location: Lenoir City, Tennessee


Architect: Red Chair Architects

Client: Cherokee Health Systems

Project Name: Cherokee Health Systems Fifth Avenue Clinic

Location: Knoxville, Tennessee



All projects submitted for a Design Award through the East Tennessee AIA Awards Program were also entered into a competition for the People’s Choice Award and Chapter Choice Award. These awards recognize the impact architecture and design has on the people of East Tennessee. The People’s Choice Award is selected by online public vote, and it is an opportunity for the excellent work prepared by members of our chapter to be promoted to a broader audience. This was the first year with a public People’s Choice vote. The website received more than 19,000 page views, 5,000 unique visitors, and over 2,800 counted votes.

Chapter Choice was determined by a vote cast by all chapter members and guests in attendance at the Design Awards event on October 28, 2014. Both votes returned the same winning project.


Architect: BarberMcMurry Architects

Client: Hicks Orthodontics

Project Name: Hicks Orthodontics

Location: Lenoir City, Tennessee




Awarded to: John McRae, FAIA

The Gold Medal has been given by our chapter to twelve recipients over the years prior to 2014. It is to honor an individual in the field of architecture for their outstanding contributions.


Awarded to: The Honorable Mayor Madeline Rogero

The Friend of Architecture Award was new in 2011, and it has been given twice prior to this year. It is to recognize an individual or organization from the community at large for outstanding service or support of the field of architecture. 


Awarded to: John Sanders, AIA