August 25, 2016 Lifetime Achievement Award Given to Davis and Davis

Marleen Davis and TK Davis 500x350 bw

Marleen Kay Davis, FAIA, and Thomas K. (T.K.) Davis, FAIA, professors in the College of Architecture and Design, have been named co-recipients of the American Institute of Architects Tennessee Samuel Morgan Lifetime Service Award for Contribution to Architecture in the Public Realm. The announcement was made Aug. 25 at the AIA Tennessee annual meeting in Chattanooga.

The Samuel Morgan Lifetime Service Award is one of the highest honors that AIA Tennessee bestows. It is conferred in recognition of architects who, by their skill, professionalism, dedication, ability and commitment, have consistently fostered quality in the public built environment. Normally reserved for an individual, this year the award was given to the husband-and-wife team, who together have almost 80 years of experience in practicing architecture and teaching students in the subject.

In nominating the Davises, Kem Hinton, FAIA, (’77), Principal of Tuck-Hinton Architects, said, “They have been jointly and separately consumed with the betterment of our profession and the advancement of their students. Their unselfish service serves as an example to other professionals and educators.”

Alumnus Gary Gaston (’99), Executive Director of the Nashville Civic Design Center, said in his nomination of the duo, “They impact the lives of students each and every day….Through Marleen’s role in creating The Plan of Nashville and T.K.’s job as Design Director, they both have literally changed the face of Nashville.”

Marleen and T.K. Davis joined the College of Architecture and Design in 1994. Marleen Davis has taught Introduction to Architecture for more than 20 years and served the college as dean during 1994-2003. In 2012, she was named an Association of Collegiate Schools of Architecture Distinguished Professor, after being elected as an AIA Fellow in 2006. Marleen received the AIA East Tennessee Gold Medal and the Lawson Teaching Award from the college. She serves on the Selection Panel for Fellows of the AIA and the Knoxville Downtown Design Review Board and has served as a board member of the East Tennessee Community Design Center. During 2007-2014, she served as president and board member of the AIA Student organization, and 2008-2009, she served as president of the ACSA. Marleen earned a master of architecture degree with distinction from Harvard University and a bachelor of architecture degree from Cornell University.

T.K. Davis teaches graduate-level Theory of Urban Design in the College of Architecture and Design. In 2011, he founded the college’s Nashville Urban Design Summer Program and teaches the studio in collaboration with Vanderbilt University. T.K. served as design director of the Nashville Civic Design Center from 2004-2008 and now serves as a member of the board of directors of this visionary organization. Since 2008, his design studios have focused exclusively on issues and opportunities confronting Nashville’s growth. T.K. was awarded Fellowship in the AIA in 2008, and in 2013, he received the national C. Peter McGrath University Community Outreach Exemplary Program award for his leadership of design in Nashville. A Fulbright Scholar, T.K. served as President of the Tennessee Foundation for Architecture and on the AIA Tennessee board of directors. T.K. earned a master of architecture degree and bachelor of architecture degree from Cornell University.

“The leadership and professional outreach of Marleen and Tom in the university and the community has helped create paths for assuring that design principles are at the forefront of building, master planning, development, sustainability, preservation and revitalization,” said Doug McCarty (’73), President and CEO, McCarty Holsaple McCarty, Inc., in nominating the Davises.

The Samuel Morgan Lifetime Service Award was established in 2012 in honor Samuel Morgan (1798-1880), an American businessman, architect, builder and manufacturer who led the effort to build a new state capitol beginning in 1854.