January 29, 2018 MAX_min 2018 Addresses Diversity through Design

Students, jurors at MAX_min announcement
With the theme “Diversity” and the challenge to re-invent the Pride Center on our campus, students developed a wide variety of design approaches during the annual MAX_min student design competition this month.  Some teams designed habitable structures; some designed technology to address needs; and some developed activities and opportunities for interaction.  

This year, the MAX_min jury chose to award four teams equally.  Congratulations to these teams, whose ideas promoted the conversation of diversity, identity and equality and propelled them forward:

  • Team #19 Bearing the Torch for Diversity by Elizabeth Ellis and Rachel Helton
  • Team #43 The Unity by James Halliwell and Taylor Harrell
  • Team #58 Inner Spark by Mara Caoile and Libby Hankal
  • Team #61 Elevated Perspectives by Kati Grostefon, Nicole Hamel, Pete Paueksakon and Caroline Waters

“The jury was extremely taken by the range of solutions and depth of devotion toward the values of diversity, identity and inclusion that each proposal exhibited,” said Katherine Ambroziak, who chaired the competition.

We salute the jury for the 2018 competition:

  • Max Robinson, Professor Emeritus of the School of Architecture
  • Kelly Ellenburg, Director of Service Learning and UT’s Smart Communities Initiative
  • Aaron Shugart-Brown, Landscape Architect at Ross|Fowler
  • Susanne Tarovella, Architect at Sparkman and Associates Architects
  • John Thurman, Associate and Project Manager at McCarty Holsaple McCarty Architects

Established and named in honor of Robinson, the annual MAX_min Design Competition brings all students from all three schools together on interdisciplinary teams in a five-day competition that encourages the greatest impact on the design environment with the least possible means.  The aim of the student projects is to leverage the potential of design thinking to creatively impact the College of Architecture and Design, the University of Tennessee, Knoxville, and the state of Tennessee. First amongst the project goals is the development of conceptual and pragmatic design excellence within our student body.