August 15, 2019 College Announces 2019-2020 Lecture Series

The College of Architecture and Design will welcome globally distinguished guest lecturers in its 2019-2020 public lecture series.

Lectures begin at 5:30 p.m. in the Art and Architecture Building, located at 1715 Volunteer Boulevard, in McCarty Auditorium Room 109, unless otherwise noted. All lectures are free and open to the public.

The 2019-2020 lectures, funded by the Robert B. Church Memorial Lecture Fund, include

Sept. 9: Ricardo de Ostos, University College London Bartlett School of Architecture, Naja & deOstos

Sept. 23: Margaret Griffin, Southern California Institute of Architecture (SCI-Arch), Griffin  Enright Architects

Oct 7: Germane Barnes, University of Miami

Oct. 14: Lyndon Neri and Rossana Hu, Neri&Hu

Oct. 21: Pierre Belanger, Open Systems

Nov. 11: Jennifer Akerman, University of Tennessee College of Architecture and Design

Feb. 10: Esther Choi, independent artist, writer and theorist

Feb. 24: James Merle Thomas, Temple University

Mar. 9: Richard Barnes, photographer

Mar. 23: Elizabeth Ranieri, Kuth Ranieri Architects

Apr. 17: Cheryl Durst, CEO, International Interior Design Association

April: General Shale Lecture

For 45 years, the College of Architecture and Design has hosted leading architects and design professionals through its Robert B. Church Memorial Lectures and more recently the Governor’s Chair Lecture Series and General Shale Lectures to enrich the education of its students and elevate the profession in the community. For details, visit