May 1, 2017 Students Recognized in University EUReCA Research Competition

Participants from the EUReCA Competition

In April, more than 20 students in the College of Architecture and Design displayed original designs and research at the University of Tennessee’s Exhibition of Undergraduate Research and Creative Achievement (EUReCA), and of these participants, six came away as winners.

EUReCA was held April 17-19 and featured poster displays and exhibits of research projects and creative achievement done by UT undergraduates who have worked with faculty mentors.

Now in its 21st year, EUReCA is a univeristy-wide event that encourages undergraduate participation in faculty-led research enterprises and capstone projects. More than 500 students participated in this year’s event, presenting a combined 330 posters for review by faculty and professionals in related fields.

In all, 23 students from the college participated, submitting 12 independent or collaborative design projects.

Six students (three entries) were named for Undergraduate Research and Creative Achievement poster awards, which recognize the top three posters in each division:

  • Rachel Elbon and Adam Smith (faculty mentor, Kevin Stevens), School of Architecture, Gold Award and $600, “Urban Quarter Organics”
  • Graham Taylor, Joshua Murray and Casey Myers (faculty mentor, James Rose), School of Architecture, Silver Award and $400, “TVA Headquarters: Poetics of Constraint”
  • Makenna Wood (faculty mentor, Liz Teston), School of Interior Design, Bronze Award and $200, “The Oasis.”

A jury comprised of local design professionals, five of whom are alumni of the college, carefully reviewed submissions. Jurors include

  • Chad Boetger, Ellen DeVoe and Kristina Wright, all of BarberMcMurry Architects
  • Ricky Foster of The Lewis Group
  • Nathan Honeycutt of McCarty Holsaple McCarty Architects and Interior Designers
  • Scott Osborn of R2R Studio LLC.

Additionally, three projects earned College of Architecture and Design Research and Creative Achievement Honors Awards and $100 cash prizes: Margaret House for “Identity of Scatter”; Michael Lidwin and Rachel List for “Investigating Terracotta Cladding—An Analysis of the Bechtler Museum’s Enclosure”; and Elizabeth Ott for “Vessels of Relief.” Faculty mentors were Tricia Stuth, Hansjoerg Goeritz and Tracy Moir-McClean, respectively.

Congratulations to all students and appreciation to the faculty mentors.