April 21, 2014 Students Earn Awards at UT Exhibition of Undergraduate Research and Creative Achievement

Five architecture student projects claimed honors at the University of Tennessee, Knoxville, 2014 Exhibition of Undergraduate Research and Creative Achievement, commonly known as EUReCA. Three winners were selected in the research division of the College of Architecture and Design, and two were designated from larger classifications, one in “Architecture, the Humanities, Music and Art,” and another in “Sustainability.” 

Matthew Barnett, Jared Dotson, and Melissa Dooley

In its 18th year, the annual EUReCA event showcases the research and creative activities of currently enrolled undergraduate students. Entries are juried by faculty panels across disciplinary divisions, six broad categories, and three special research awards. Cash prizes are given by the Chancellor’s Office, the Office of Research and Engagement, and individual colleges across campus.

The Sustainability Award, funded by the UT Office of Sustainability, was one of three special research awards. “Knoxville Urban Market and Culinary School,” completed by students Matthew Barnett and Zane Espinosa, was selected from 247 entries across university disciplines. It was envisioned in the fourth-year integration studio led by Lecturer Kevin Stevens.

“This project was remarkably rigorous in applying LEED [Leadership in Energy & Environmental Design, a green building] criteria and innovative strategies and tactics to minimize energy use, while at the same time producing a beautifully-drawn depiction of a highly sophisticated design,” said Thomas K. Davis, an associate professor of architecture and representative of the Undergraduate Research Advisory Committee.

Students Hannah Daniel and Melissa Dooley received the Bronze Medal in the “Architecture, the Humanities, Music and Art” category, which had 65 entries in the field. The students’ project, “Live Micro in the District: Micro–Unit Housing in Downtown Nashville,” was produced during the Nashville Urban Design Program held in the summer of 2013. Associate Professor Thomas K. Davis directs the program.

The disciplinary awards given by the College of Architecture and Design were juried by Jennifer Akerman, an assistant professor, Katherine Ambroziak, an assistant professor, and William Martella, an associate professor. They selected three projects from 13 poster entries.

The winning projects of the architecture and design division were:

  • “Establishing Place: An Orchard for Norris, Tennessee” by Dillon Joseph Canfield, a third-year architecture student mentored by Scott Wall, professor and director of the School of Architecture.
  • “Live Micro in the District: Micro-Unit Housing in Downtown Nashville” by Hannah Daniel and Melissa Dooley, fourth-year architecture students mentored by Thomas K. Davis, associate professor of architecture.
  • Skeen Residence” by Jarod Dotson, Matthew Barnett, Thomas Agee and Melissa Dooley. The design-build project was designed for and by the UT Chapter of American Institute of Architecture Students (AIAS) Freedom by Design. It was completed independently and accomplished outside of coursework.

Additional information about EUReCA and the results of the 2014 competition will be available at